And I am afraid that in a few years, I will have forgotten the pain you made me feel or the way your eyes could set my insides on fire and I will meet you on the street or in a supermarket, both of us living new lives without the other, and you will smile at me, mumbling a quick ‘hey’ and then raise a hand to wave goodbye and the second you turn your back on me, again, the safe ground I have found will disappear and I will fall back into that dark corner of my mind where I am still in love with you, still remembering every small act of affection you ever granted me, hopelessly begging you to love me. // excerpt from a story I’ll never write. j.d.m. 💔

Leave a Reply

